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1915(i) Policy 
 

Provider Enrollment Screening 510-08-50-05 
 

Provider Enrollment Screening Requirements for Individual Providers 
Applying for Enrollment as a ND Medicaid Provider of 1915(i) Services   

 
Regulating Authority   

 
North Dakota Century Code (NDCC) Title 12.1 Criminal Code 

North Dakota Administrative Code (NDAC) Chapter 75-02-05 Provider Integrity 
North Dakota Administrative Code (NDAC) Chapter 75-01-03 Appeals and Hearings 

U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Title 42, Chapter IV, Part 424, Subpart P – 
Requirements for Establishing and Maintaining Medicare Billing Privileges 

  
Applicant Disclosure of Criminal Conviction Requirements 

 
As part of the Medicaid provider enrollment application process, 1915(i) individual 

provider applicants are required to disclose all felony, class A misdemeanor, or 
class B misdemeanor convictions listed in NDAC 75-02-05-11.2: 
https://www.legis.nd.gov/information/acdata/pdf/75-02-05.pdf. A background 

check will be conducted for all provider applicants.  
 

If undisclosed criminal convictions are discovered during the provider screening 
process, the provider applicant will be denied enrollment.  

 
Denial of Application Due to Conviction 

 
ND 1915(i) provider applicants will be denied if the provider applicant has been 

convicted of any of the following felonies, class A misdemeanors, or class B 
misdemeanors outlined in NDAC 75-02-05-11.2 and have not been deemed 

“sufficiently rehabilitated” by the NDDHS.  
 

12.1-16 homicide; 12.1-17, assaults - threats - coercion - harassment; 12.1-
18, kidnapping; 12.1-27.2, sexual performances by children; or 12.1-41, 

Uniform Act on Prevention of and Remedies for Human Trafficking; in North 
Dakota Century Code section 12.1-20-03, gross sexual imposition; 12.1-20-

03.1, continuous sexual abuse of a child; 12.1-20-04, sexual imposition; 
12.1-20-05, corruption or solicitation of minors; 12.1-20-06, sexual abuse of 

wards; 12.1-20-06.1, sexual exploitation by therapist; 12.1-20-07, sexual 
assault; 12.1-22-01, robbery; 12.1-22-02, burglary, if a class B felony under 
subdivision b of subsection 2 of that section; 12.1-29-01, promoting 

prostitution; 12.1-29-02, facilitating prostitution; 12.1-31-05, child 
procurement; 12.1-31-07, endangering a vulnerable adult; 12.1-31-07.1, 

exploitation of a vulnerable adult; subsection 1 of section 26.1-02.1-02.1 of 
North Dakota Century Code, fraudulent insurance acts; or an offense under 

the laws of another jurisdiction which requires proof of substantially similar 

https://www.legis.nd.gov/information/acdata/pdf/75-02-05.pdf
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elements as required for conviction under any of the enumerated North 
Dakota statutes. 

 
Sufficiently Rehabilitated 

 
Applicants with a Single Conviction 

 
If a provider applicant has been convicted of only one felony, class A misdemeanor, 

or class B misdemeanor as outlined in 75-02-05-11.2, ND Medicaid Provider 
Enrollment will deem a 1915(i) provider applicant “sufficiently rehabilitated” if the 

following number of years have elapsed since final discharge and release from any 
term of probation, parole or other form of community corrections, or imprisonment, 

without subsequent conviction (NDCC 12.1-33-02.1.2.c). 
• Felony = 3 years  

• Class A misdemeanor = 2 years  
• Class B misdemeanor = 1 year  

 
Applicants with Two or More Convictions 

 
If a provider applicant has been convicted of two or more felonies, class A 
misdemeanors, or class B misdemeanors as outlined in 75-02-05-11.2, ND Medicaid 

Provider Enrollment will deem a 1915(i) provider applicant “sufficiently 
rehabilitated” if five years has elapsed since final discharge and release from any 

term of probation, parole or other form of community corrections, or imprisonment, 
without subsequent conviction (NDCC 12.1-33-02.1.2.c). 

 
Applicants with Subsequent Conviction within the Stated Time Period 

 
ND Medicaid Provider Enrollment will not deem a 1915(i) provider applicant 

“sufficiently rehabilitated” if the provider applicant was convicted of an offense 
outlined in NDAC 75-02-05-11.2 and a subsequent conviction of any felony, class A 

misdemeanor, or class B misdemeanor, not limited to the offenses located in NDAC 
75-02-05-11.2, occurs prior to the above time period expiring. The provider 

applicant will forever be prohibited from enrolling as a 1915(i) provider with ND 
Medicaid. 

 
Enrolled Provider Convictions 

 
After the provider is enrolled, they must report to ND Medicaid any felony, class A 

misdemeanor, or class B misdemeanor convictions outlined in NDAC 75-02-05-11.2 
that occur during the provider enrollment period. If an enrolled provider is 
convicted of any felony, class A misdemeanor, or class B misdemeanor as outlined 

in NDAC 75-02-05-11.2 during the provider enrollment period, their provider 
enrollment will be terminated by ND Medicaid. A terminated provider will have an 

opportunity to reenroll with ND Medicaid and be considered “sufficiently 
rehabilitated” if the following number of years have elapsed since final discharge 

and release from any term of probation, parole or other form of community 
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corrections, or imprisonment, without subsequent conviction (NDCC 12.1-33-
02.1.2.c): 

 1. First offense: 
• Felony = 3 years  

• Class A misdemeanor = 2 years  
• Class B misdemeanor = 1 year  

2. Five years for two or more offenses.   
 

Terminated Provider Applicants 
 

ND Medicaid Provider Enrollment will not deem a 1915(i) terminated provider 
“sufficiently rehabilitated” if the terminated provider applicant was convicted of an 

offense outlined in NDAC 75-02-05-11.2 and a subsequent conviction of any felony, 
class A misdemeanor, or class B misdemeanor, not limited to the offenses located in 

NDAC 75-02-05-11.2, occurs prior to the above time period expiring. The 
terminated provider applicant will forever be prohibited from enrolling as a 1915(i) 

provider with ND Medicaid. 
 

Failure to report or disclose a conviction to ND Medicaid will result in a termination 
of provider enrollment. A background check may be conducted on enrolled 
providers.   

 
The ND Medicaid Provider Enrollment process includes written notification to all 

provider applicants and providers informing them of acceptance or denial of the 
application or termination.  

 
ND Medicaid Provider Enrollment Appeals 

 
NDAC Chapter 75-02-05-09 Provider Integrity, located here: 

https://www.legis.nd.gov/information/acdata/pdf/75-02-05.pdf, provides an 
applicant the right to appeal a decision to deny enrollment or terminate provider 

enrollment by filing a written appeal with the department within fifteen days of the 
date of the written notice of the denial or termination. Upon receipt of a timely 

appeal, an administrative hearing may be conducted in the manner provided in 
NDAC Chapter 75-01-03. Appeals and Hearings, located here: 

https://www.legis.nd.gov/information/acdata/pdf/75-01-03.pdf. An applicant who 
receives notice of denial and requests a timely review of that decision is not eligible 

to provide services until a final decision has been made by the department that 
reverses the decision to deny the application. 

 
 
 

https://www.legis.nd.gov/information/acdata/pdf/75-02-05.pdf
https://www.legis.nd.gov/information/acdata/pdf/75-01-03.pdf

